Iamd1’s Scribbling Desk

Poetry in Two Tongues (2)

Posted on: SundaySeptember1910

SALIN

 

Nangaturog ako paghinulat

ha imo kagab-i. Nag-iininop,

nga imo ginsinampit.

han kasina ko nga an inop

waray kahuman, gin talikdan ta

ikaw ngan bimalik pagkaturog.

 

Pagmata ko kanina nakalakat ka na.

Didto ha lamesa gin paso mo,

gin upay hin paglatag an magrasa

nga pagkaon para han ak pamahaw.

May lakip pa gud nga plastic nga bukad

An im halipot nga surat nangangaro hin pasaylo.

 

Duro an ak kagutom pero dayon la binalik

an akon gin ininop – hi Nanay nga nagsisinagdon

“Uday, pagsalin bisan la guti-ay.”

Ha ak hunahuna, gin baton ko hiya –

“Ayaw ka baraka, diri la salin nga guti-ay –

Kay bug-os pa an ak pagkatawo, Nanay!”

 

 

Gin limpyohan ko an lamesa

ha plastic bag gin butang an imo dara

Ika-lilipay ini han ayam ni ugangan.

Ngan tikang yana, usa la it ak hangyo –

ayaw ako dad-i hin bisan ano,

kay kun dawaton ko ito

waray na masasalin ha akon.

 

 

*  *  *

(the English translation)

Leavings

I fell asleep waiting for you to come home.

Then in the midst of a dream

you woke me up.

I was so mad at the interruption –

I turned away from you and slumbered on.

When I woke up, you had left.

Breakfast was waiting at the table

– the warmed up left-overs you brought home

Pleasantly set with a plastic bloom

And I-am-sorry note….

I was so hungry but the dream I had came back.

It was Mom advising me to leave even just

a bit for myself. In my mind, I replied –

‘Don’t worry Mother, I have – not just a bit

– all of me is still here’.

I cleared up the table, the food

I stuffed into a plastic bag.

It will make mom-in-law’s puppy happy.

And do me a favor –

no more bring-home please –

I do not want your leavings

because if I do

I’ll have nothing left.

 

2 Responses to "Poetry in Two Tongues (2)"

Wow. Great poem there. I have never read a translation which is just as enchantingly lovely as the original.

I think that if the author is able to do the translation – she should do it; after all who knows the poem better than the writer herself.
I really had a difficult time writing in Waray. I forgot a lot of words, terms and phrases, not to mention the mechanics of writing…. Your brother David is very good at this….
Well, we all owe The Leytean a lot!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Archives

